community foundation of the Upper Peninsula, Logo                   National Standards Logo 
 Local (906) 786-6654
 Toll-Free  (906) 233-6982

For Good. For Ever.



Legacy Logo

The 2018 Legacy Dinner was held Thursday, September 20, 2018.

The 2019 Legacy Dinner will be held on Thursday, September 19, 2019.

Thank you all for helping to make the 2018 Legacy event a success!

Bettering the Lives of Local Residents

Charitably Funding Community Projects

The mission of the Community Foundation for Delta County is to make Delta County a better place to work, play and live and to adhere to the directions from its donors now and in the future. The foundation provides leadership, including growing and managing "permanent endowments from a wide range of donors," and making grants to meet changing community needs. Located in Escanaba, Michigan, we are dedicated in making our community a better place.

Escanaba Lighthouse
Escanaba Lighthouse
Delta County Historical Society
Ironwood Memorial
Bay De Noc Community College

Our History

The Community Foundation for Delta County came into existence in 1989 as a result of a bequest of $350,000. A local banker had assisted the donor who wanted her estate to "benefit the community." As a result of this bequest, the banker was instrumental in starting the Community Foundation for Delta County, an IRS approved 501(c)(3) charitable organization. For several years, the foundation was in name only.

In 1991, another local banker provided seed money for the articles of incorporation, etc. An active search for new board of trustee members was initiated and the "new board" started its work of growing and managing endowments and making grants to worthwhile community projects and organizations. The first grant of $100 was constructed and completed in 1992. With each consecutive year thereafter, the total number of made grants has grown. Through November of 2016, the Community Foundation for Delta County has made over $12,900,000 in community grants to all areas of Delta County. As of December 31, 2017, our audited net assets were over 17 million dollars.

As a result of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation's Youth Matching Grant Program, we now have an important part of our foundation that has permanently endowed youths with funds to create their own grants. This has been done thanks to our Youth Advisory Committee (YAC).

Today, the community foundation has a thirteen-member board from all areas of Delta County, including a full-time Executive Director as well as support staff. This board manages over 170 separate funds and continues to grow. Due to the broad definition of the mission and purpose of the community foundation, it is able to adapt and meet the ever-changing needs of the community.

Staff and Board


• Robert VanDamme, Chair
• Charles Becker
• Will Carne, Sr.
• Cindy Aird Carter
• Kenneth Gartland
• Kristen MacArthur
• Tom Mitchell
• Kelli van Ginhoven
• Elizabeth Zorza
• Dylan Hardy
• Jenna Rubick

Accounting/Support Staff
• Diana Clark
• Shaun Gogolewski
• Connie Mayville
• Amy Skorupski
• Lynnette St. John-Stein
• Donna Vietzke

• Executive Director - Cheryl Andzejewski

• YAC Co-Coordinators - Cheryl Andzejewski & Diana Clark